Cabronita Build - Bridge Adjustment Question.

Discussion in 'Showcase' started by Lamf77, Oct 12, 2017.

1. Lamf77

Lamf77 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

I am putting a Cabronita together and am just about finished. I am no expert, hence my question.
    I put the high and low "E" strings on to help get the neck straight and check alignment. The HipShot Bridge fits perfect, and while the string are not exactly over the pickup poles, they are pretty close.
    I am going to take it into the shop for set up; but noticed in my "quick" check of the these strings, the saddles on the HipShot are really high. The two screw which are inside the HipShot saddles in seem to be almost as far into the saddle as they can go, without coming out the other end?
    My neck and everything else is ok? Just wondering if this was normal.
    Thanks!

bridge.jpg

doneslant.jpg

Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  2. STACKS

STACKS Well-Known Member

The saddles do look high. How is the string height over the fret board? You could try a thin shim in the back of the neck pocket. You can also slightly loosen the neck screws and move the neck sideways, hold it, then tighten it back up to align your strings on the neck.
    I've thought about trying one of those bridges on a project, they look nice.

Lamf77 likes this.
  3. msc_

msc_ Well-Known Member Supporting Member

The back of the neck is a touch high. You may need to sand the neck pocket a little to reduce the neck angle or put a small shim at the front of the neck pocket (not a great solution). Reducing the neck angle will allow you to drop the saddle height. You will want the saddle heights to match the fretboard radius when it's set-up.

stevebway, Chocol8 and Lamf77 like this.

4. Lamf77

I am not so much worried about the neck alignment to the strings. I read Cabronitas almost never line up perfect.
    The neck pocket is 5/8" deep and the neck in the center is 3/8" above the body.