First Timer

Discussion in 'Project Depot' started by wankeenobi, Oct 12, 2017.

1. wankeenobi

wankeenobi Active Member

Hi all.

I'm new to refinishing guitars and want to get into it. I'm handy with tools and woodworking but due to limits in my environment and budget, I cannot outfit any kind of workshop. Therefore, my work will mostly be done by hand.

I'm going to try my hand at refinishing this Cort CR100
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I have already scoured the internet forums and Youtube and come across all kinds of methods and contradictions so I'm just going to ask the good folks here for advice.

Before I start, please refrain from giving me advice about other materials I should be using etc. I have researched for months and will be working with what I can source locally and relatively cheaply. The things I list here are literally the only options I have.

I'm going to be rattlecanning everything.
    The color coat will be automotive touch up paint (enamel)
    with Minwax Polycrylic as the clearcoat. I still need to test this combination but from what I've read, as long as I give the enamel plenty of time to cure, I should be fine.

So a few questions to start:
    - How many cans of Poly will I need to get a decent coating on the body, headstock and neck? Unlike many people, I actually like a thick clear coat on my guitar body.
    - What exactly is a "witness line" and how does one prevent it from occuring?
    - How should I approach the clear coat on the neck? Just a few coats of Poly sanded smooth?

Your collective wisdom would be much appreciated!

manco53, DonM and PsychoCid like this.
  2. tonebender

tonebender Well-Known Member