AL-3010SE: review after 15 months

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by TastyLicks, Aug 19, 2014.

1. TastyLicks

TastyLicks New Member

Hey all; long-time reader, first time poster. I thought I'd offer the other side of all the NGD posts and review my Agile after over a year of using it as my main guitar. Might get a bit long-winded, but better too much info than not enough.
    First, my background: I've been playing guitar seriously for 19 years, took lessons for half that time, and work full-time in a large used guitar store. I play mostly classical and jazz.

I bought my 3010 in May of 2013 as a B-stock for ~$270 shipped including a case. The setup was excellent out of the box: low action with only slight buzzing and a dead-straight neck. It was B-stock due to a scratch near the nut which I colored in with a Sharpie. There were only 2 issues stock. First, even though I got the wide-neck version the nut was still standard 1-11/16" spacing, making the extra width pointless. I got a new GraphTech nut with the correct spacing for $8 thru ebay and installed it myself. The other issue, sort of, was that the bridge was placed too far back. The guitar still intonated perfectly, but it looked a little off. Though it wasn't a problem, I changed the bridge out for a Wilkenson roller model that could be shifted forward on the studs to look less wonky.