al 3100 pups

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by jp1969, Dec 8, 2010.

1. jp1969

jp1969 New Member

i play alot of different style from metallica to cake (look them up if you dony know them definately a gem in my book) to zeppelin and sabbath, s.o.a.d, pantera will the stock pickups hold up well with different styles? mainly im worried they might be too warm but thats an easy fix. do they sound good with chuncky distortion? also how are the stock pots? most of my guitars have pots that are pretty "all or nothing". do they clean up when you roll the volume back? regardless of the pickups this will be my first agile so im trying to figure out in advance wjat will need upgraded as i have no previous experience with them.

2. Frankenfretter

Frankenfretter Well-Known Member Supporting Member

The stockers in the AL3*** are Alnico 5, so they will sound somewhat warmer than a ceramic generally speaking. That said, the pickups are pretty darn decent, and can handle a wide variety of styles. The pots are full sized Alpha pots, and they work just fine. I don't think you'd be doing yourself any favors by replacing them with CTS pots, but that's just my personal opinion.

If you don't like them, there's plenty of folks on here who have pickups they'd be happy to trade you for your stock pickups, I'm sure. Good luck with your purchase!

3. wurstburst

wurstburst Well-Known Member

The stock pickups are great. Whether you'll like them for metal is a bit of personal preference. I find they work well from clean to crunch to high-gain distortion, but I don't play a ton of scooped-mids metal stuff (sounds good when I do though).