Best Affordable Amp Sim?

Discussion in 'Gear Chat' started by helsinkirocks, Apr 21, 2020.

1. helsinkirocks

helsinkirocks Well-Known Member

I've been looking to get a better amp lately, but I also want to do more recording, so I've been thinking of switching over to an amp sim. I primarily use Reaper for all my recording, so I want one that works easily with Reaper.

Keep in mind I'm pretty much a total n00b when it comes to the intricacies and in-depths of using reaper, but I can do lots of basic stuff with it. I've never used an amp sim before either, so I will have a high learning curve. I'm also currently using a zoom multi-fx unit as my interface, but I had been planning on buying a Scarlett at some point.

My initial thought was Guitar Rig, as it seems to be pretty popular and pretty capable. I primarily play metal, in the Pantera / Metallica vein, as well as hardcore punk.

Any opinions on whats out there as far as a good mix of quality / user patches / affordability?

Thanks.

Mikesr1963 likes this.
  2. helsinkirocks

3. andrewsrea

andrewsrea Well-Known Member

I use Ampire which came with Presonus Studio 1. It is okay Nothing like the real thing.

4. golem

golem Well-Known Member

Just got Bias FX2 recently as a consolation prize for the Spark being so slow. It's impressive.

5. voodoorat

voodoorat Well-Known Member

I recently got bias Fx2 and bias amps. I got fx free because of the spark fiasco but I think amps only cost like 40 bucks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MichaelR likes this.
  6. MichaelR

MichaelR Well-Known Member Supporting Member

I've just run the demo and it seemed pretty good, I think ill try the standard version which at $59 isn't to hard on my budget. I imagine I could upgrade if I feel the need later. I also run Reaper although I'm not particularly skilled with it.

7. Mikesr1963

Mikesr1963 Well-Known Member