Brand New To Wiring

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Owen Blackwell, Oct 11, 2019.

1. Owen Blackwell

Owen Blackwell New Member

I'm a thirteen-year-old guitarist looking for a bit of help. Back in August, I bought an Ibanez Gio with the intentions for it to be a project guitar. I've gotten as far as painting the body but when I took it apart, I didn't take photos of the wiring and I need a bit of help wiring it all back together. I would really appreciate some help. Thanks.
    ae309c357d3e58e310e8bff10abc30d1._.jpg
    a5fe8e4e410726d4eb26476e65a83847._.jpg

dbrian66 and Manodano like this.
  2. rrobbone

rrobbone Well-Known Member

There are schematics on the Seymour Duncan website. It’a a pretty good resource for wiring diagrams.

Be aware that not all pickup manufacturers color code their pickup leads the same way.

dbrian66, RiverDog and CyFan4036 like this.
  3. redman

redman Member Supporting Member+

Maybe one of these will help

dbrian66 likes this.

4. Manodano

Manodano Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Looks good to me so far. Rrobbone sent in you in the right direction - there are good pictorial diagrams on the site. You can do it! Don't feel bad if you don't get it perfect the first time - I never do. If one of the pots operates in reverse or the switch is backwards, chalk it up to experience. that's how you learn.

When you get it wired up, and before you string it up, check your work by plugging into an amp, and checking the operation of the controls while tapping on the pickups with a screwdriver. If you hit a snag, post here, one of us will help you. You can PM me if you get stuck, but posting will get you an answer quicker. Good luck!

5. idiotsdelight

idiotsdelight Well-Known Member

What kind of pickup configuration?

dbrian66 likes this.
  6. Mickey

Mickey Gandalf the Intonationer

Based on his pics of the wiring, looks like a pair of humbuckers. :)

dbrian66 likes this.
  7. Owen Blackwell

Yeah, it's a pair of humbuckers.