NGD Eye Candy 4 U - Advice 4 Me - Sx Gg7 - Natural

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Buddy, Apr 24, 2019.

1. Buddy

Buddy Well-Known Member

This popped on Reverb a couple days ago; I fell in love.

She is beautiful! But she is going to need some TLC. I could use your collective advice.

This is the exact state in which I received the guitar - except I crudely clipped off some coiled up extra string. It was driving me nuts and I didn't want it to scratch the headstock, so I just got that off of there as fast as I could.

1 - Overall, all the gold hardware is tarnished and dull looking. Should I just replace it all, or is there a way to spruce it up, back to it's original, full shine? As a drummer, I'm tempted to try Nev-R Dull, which is what I use on chrome snares and cymbals. It is amazing stuff. But would it make the gold plate golden again? Or would it just clean it and leave it still washed out looking, wasting my time?

2 - She'g got some fret buzz. Seems to be an epidemic among us lately, especially on SX guitars. I can see that there is something wrong with the nut. To my eye, it looks poorly cut, and in fact slightly chipped in a couple places. The neck "looks" fairly straight to my eye, although I have not put a straight edge to it yet. My inclination is to go ahead and replace the nut and see if that fixes the buzz BEFORE adjusting the truss rod. Do you agree on this observation / strategy? Can anyone recommend a pre-cut nut for this model? Also, anything I need to watch out for when replacing a nut? I never did it before. Is the old one glued down? How do I get the glue off? Is the new one supposed to get glued down? Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I never did a nut swap before, and since I don't know the answer, I need to ask.