Looking For 10-string Scales Resources

Discussion in 'Player's Tips' started by TexSchrute, Feb 13, 2020.

1. TexSchrute

TexSchrute New Member

New forum member here; I have an Agile Pendulum Pro 102730 10-string - Oceanburst Flame in transit to me, presently, ordered from Kurt at Rondo Music.

I'd asked him if he had any recommendations for 10-string resources: he recommended this forum, so here I am.

I have an Ibanez 8-string, but wanted the 10-string, so financed it.

I'm familiar with Rob Silver's books of scales, but they only cover up through 8-strings.

Can anyone give me any suggestions?

I'm pretty certain that the quickest way for me to grow comfortable with this new 10-string monster is practicing scales on it.
    And I enjoy scales.

2. toomanycats

toomanycats Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum.

Did Kurt really vouch for us? o_O He obviously has a good sense of humor. :ROFLMAO:

I have zero experience with ten or even eight string guitars. I do have a seven string, though I've never gotten completely comfortable with that.

That being said, this may be helpful advice:

Any guitar tuned to 4ths with have familiar repeating patterns on every pair of adjacent strings. For example, on a six string guitar the notes on the 5th and 7th frets of the Low E and A strings string will be repeated on the 7th and 9th strings of the D and G strings, and again on the 10th and 12th fret of the B and High E strings. We're talking about moving through three octaves of the same pattern.

Explicitly:

A B D E* A B D E* A B D E

---------------------------10-12
    ---------------------10-12------
    ----------------7-9-------------
    -----------7-9------------------
    ------5-7-----------------------
    -5-7----------------------------