New Found Love For An Older Amp: Fender G Dec 3 Thirty

Discussion in 'Amps' started by Powertrip240, May 16, 2019.

1. Powertrip240

Powertrip240 Well-Known Member

I've never been a gigging guitarist. During the short time that I was in a band, I was a drummer. So I've never felt the need for high-wattage amps, or any large amounts of gear. Well, large amounts of gear is a relative term, I suppose. But I digress.

My current amp, and only amp at the moment, is a Fender G Dec 3 Thirty. The one with the SD card slot, and the USB port, to allow you to connect it to a PC and use Fender Fuse.

I have been playing more metal music than anything else lately. So just last night, I decided to change the settings on the amp. I downloaded and installed the presets from the Metal FSR (Factory Special Run). It took about 15 minutes to figure it out and have it up and running in "face melting mode". Man, I love this amp! The plethora of adjustable settings, stompboxes, backing tracks, etc. make this thing more versatile than I am! And the sound quality is really damn good considering it's a 10" speaker and little tweater, in a closed back cabinet.

So after getting all that situated, I started playing around with other download-able presets, and tweaking some of the settings, and really discovered the flexibility of this old amp. I've been playing some Pantera, and I was able to dial in a great Dimebag sound. I saved a mid-scooped high-gain sound for "Walk", and made a nice lush chorusy clean with reverb and delay for the intro to "This Love". I was then able to save them to the 'Quick Access', which is selectable with the 4 button foot switch. I haven't even started playing with the backing tracks yet, but that'll be coming up soon.