Simple Home Recording For 1 Man Band

Discussion in 'Windows Recording' started by artandsoul, Sep 19, 2019.

1. artandsoul

artandsoul Well-Known Member

Im a newbie to home recording and need some advice on the subject. I play drums and some guitar and bass. Only way i have right now t record is a zoom recorder. I have a loop pedal ehx nano looper 360 i can put guitar on loop and play drums with it and record it with the zoom recorder but can include bass or vocals unless its sung while playing drums. whats the easy simple cheapish way for me to record all 3. Ive never used any recording software etc ever just the zoom with drums and guitar few times but i want drums, guitar, bass and eventually vocals on it at some point.I have drums, bass, guitar and powered 212 speakers aka mic in rear for pa to use.

2. tonray

tonray Well-Known Member Supporting Member+

Get an Audio Interface that connects to your PC. Then you can record tracks independently and mix them on the PC later.

Narsh, artandsoul and andrewsrea like this.
  3. Milkman

Milkman Well-Known Member

A Scarlett 2i2 is a good starter interface. You’ll be able to plug an instrument and/or microphone into your computer with that.

If you have a Mac, it’s a no-brainer - learn to use GarageBand. If not - there’s a very reasonably Digital Audio Workstation software callled Reaper... is use that.

If you’ve never used this stuff, the learning curve is steep, but worth it. YouTube is your friend for this.

Dive in... you won’t regret it.

Narsh and artandsoul like this.

4. GuitLoop

GuitLoop Active Member

Start free with Audacity and go from there. Audacity handles multi track recording, mixing and editing and can output to many different audio formats. Can't beat the price!

I record in audacity without any audio interface too. I just plug into the line in on my computer. Also free!

artandsoul and Milkman like this.
  5. Milkman