Vintage Carvin bass pawshop sighting (edit) soon to be score!

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Truedog, May 6, 2013.

1. Truedog

Truedog Well-Known Member

Just in case anyone is interested in older Carvins.

I was at the pawn shop with my wife yesterday and they have a pearl white LB75 that appears to be a 1988-90 model. The bass seems to be in pretty good shape overall with its share of battle scars but nothing unusual for the age. It seems to play pretty good, though the 5th string was throwing me off. I've never tried a 5 string before and its been a long time since I picked up any bass, but it didn't seem it has any major problems.
    Being a pawnshop they are asking an exorbitant $685! I would guesstimate the correct value to be around $300.
    The bass looked very similar to this one:
    20eddcc696f17dfc59ef68dbb9ff11b2.jpg

More pics. I was tempted but the price was out of line and the dudes at the pawnshop are typical predatory pawnshop jerks. Pay people half of what an item is worth then try to sell it for at least double what it's worth. No deal for me here. And after playing it a bit more, I know that whenever I get a bass it will be a four stringer. Nothing wrong with this one, but for me I think 4 strings would be plenty.

[​IMG]
    3db23fbbd6d1c4d81cfb25c9e3826ffb.jpg
    aa22ada531d4b766b9b80e1a6b31dc9f.jpg

2. chibimike

chibimike Well-Known Member Supporting Member+

RE: Vintage Carvin bass pawshop sighting

I'm not sure where you get the $300 value on that bass. From little I've found the pawn shops price is pretty much in line. Neck thru 5 string, it looks like it has the stereo output option. Not a $300 bass.

3. golem

golem Well-Known Member

Although Carvins do go cheap I'd be shocked to find one for $300 as well.

4. tlarson58

tlarson58 Well-Known Member

Being ignorant about all things bass-y, I am guessing that this is a pretty nice instrument. Judging from your opinion and those that responded, it sounds overpriced.